A brief report on HEAM SCHOLAR-2013

IAHEAM organized 'HEAM SCHOLAR-2013' in association with Department of Chemistry, University of Kerala, on 12th December 2013. Prof. Dr. K.N. Ninan, IIST, Trivandrum inaugurated the programme. In his inaugural talk, Dr. Ninan lauded the significance of advanced materials that are used in rockets and other space devices for hydrogen storage applications. He also emphasized the need of alternate nitrogen containing rocket fuels in order to reduce ozone depletion. Dr. S.M.A. Shibli (President, IAHEAM) and Dr. Shaneeth (Secretary, IAHEAM) described the essential features of the programme as well as the role of youngsters in the field of development of advanced materials for hydrogen generation, storage and applications. The inaugural session came to an end by 11.15 am with the vote of thanks by Dr. Jayasree E.G., Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Kerala. The technical sessions started at 11.30 am after a tea break. Dr. Saji Viswanathan from Korean University, South Korea delivered first lecture of the session, titled "Molybdenum based electrocatalysts for hydrogen generation by water electrolysis", in which, he illustrated the profile and potential of molybdenum based catalysts for the generation of hydrogen by electrolysis of water. Dr. Saji concluded his lecture by 12.40 pm. The lunch was served from 12.45 to 01.45pm. Dr. James Joseph from CECRI, Karaikudi, gave an interesting lecture on the topic "Au-nano metal hexacyanoferrate composites: Nanocomposites for enhanced interfacial properties" after lunch. Dr. James discussed various tailoring and synthesis techniques of gold-based nano composites with enhanced interfacial properties. Dr. K.P. Vijayalakshmi from VSSC (ISRO) highlighted the significance of borazene and its derivatives for hydrogen storage applications in her lecture titled "New directions for hydrogen storage: Borazene and derivatives". There were many oral presentations from the selected candidates for HEAM SCHOLAR and best oral presentation awards. Ms. S. Jayashree from CECRI, Karaikudi won the HEAM SCHOLAR-2013 title. She had delivered a brilliant presentation on hydrogen production from seawater and she answered almost all the questions raised by the judges and the audience. A short meeting was also arranged before concluding the programme to chart out the HEAM SCHOLAR-2014 program.
